News‎ > ‎Football News‎ > ‎

U13's Win Div 2 Football League

posted Jun 22, 2011, 2:39 PM by Kevin Brassil
13th November 2010

U13’s Win Div 2 League

Football Div 2 Playoff

Raheny 3-11       Cuala 3-8


Anyone watching this game was proud of the performance the team put in for the club. To every man they put in superb performances. Raheny were beaten by Cuala four week previous by 9 points and knew that they had to up their game if they wanted to win league title.

The game started with Cuala scoring a goal and two points inside the first ten minutes and Raheny missing a host of chances. The game went to and fro until the half time break and Cuala were leading by six points, Raheny needed to dig deep.

A quiet team talk at half time roused Raheny, five minutes into the second half Raheny rattled the Cuala net with two fantastic goals and were now firing on all cylinders. Points were exchanged by both teams, Raheny free takers with steely nerves punishing Cuala for their errors. Raheny scored another goal with 10 minutes to go. 5 Minutes to go Cuala had reduced the deficit to two points but Raheny stood strong were not going to be beaten. With 2 minutes to go Raheny were up by three points, and the clock ticked in slow motion. At the final whistle there was elation all round for Raheny who knew they had been in a tough tough game and game out victorious.

A classic game of football was served to supporters on both sides. Praise must be also be given to Cuala who were gracious in defeat and should  be proud of themselves for taking part in such a game.


Well done to all players they did the Club and Parish Proud


Team Panel;

Ryan Bradshaw, Rob O’Meara, Sean McCarthy, Andrew Carroll, Darren Cooper, Phillip Shatwell, Evan Cumiskey, Brian Howard, Alex McConnell, Cormac McDermott, James O’Kane, Ian Garry, Darren Byrne, Glen McNamara, Ciaran Kelly, Kevin Doran, Thomas Kearns, Phil Roche, Ciaran Holohan, Aaron Kelly, Matt Lyons, Stephen Murphy, and Fiachra O’Flynn

With the hurling addition of Jack Geary and Sean Flynn.

This panel of players have now won the Div 3 Hurling title and Div 2 Football title in the same season.