News‎ > ‎Football News‎ > ‎

3 Raheny players included in DUBS Panel for 2009 NFL

posted Jun 22, 2011, 1:21 PM by Kevin Brassil
24th January 2009

Senior football squad for League

Raheny players Ciaran Whelan, David Henry, Donal Ryan included in 2009 DUBLIN NFL panel

Declan Lally has returned to the Dublin squad as they prepare for the commencement of their National Football League Division 1 campaign.

The Dublin senior football management are to alternate their team captain during the upcoming National Football League, as the panel for the NFL has been announced.

A number of injuries are currently blighting the panel after the Dublin squad trained together in Garristown last weekend.

Despite giving promising displays during the OByrne Cup run and also showing well in training, newcomer Blaine Kelly is not considered due to a slight hamstring injury along with Alan Brogan who is concentrating on rehab work on a similar injury.

Eamon Fennell is also ruled out because of a knee injury, and although Kevin Bonner is nursing a bruised hip, the St Brigids player is in contention along with Paddy Andrews who was rested last week due to bruising to his foot.

Returning to the panel is Declan Lally, following strong displays with the development squad, while more players are likely to join the panel from the development squad ranks after the league opener against Tyrone.

No captain has been chosen for the coming season. A number of candidates will be given the opportunity to lead the team during the National League.

The Kilmacud Crokes players have not been considered for the panel yet due to their upcoming All-Ireland Club SFC semi-final against Corofin on February 21.

Meanwhile, next week will see Dublin manager Pat Gilroy and his selectors reveal their 24-man squad for the opening NFL tie against Tyrone at Croke Park on 31 January.

Panel for the National Football League:
Paddy Andrews (St Brigids), Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge St), Kevin Bonner (St Brigids), Sean Breheny (St Judes), Gerard Brennan (St Vincents), Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/ER), James Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/ER), Barry Cahill (St Brigids), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), Paul Conlon (St Vincents), Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), Colin Daly (Skerries Harps), Tiernan Diamond (St Vincents), Enda Dolan (Ballymun Kickhams), Eamon Fennell (OTooles), Paul Flynn (Fingallians), Hugh Gill (St Vincents), David Henry (Raheny), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Endas), Declan Lally (St Brigids), Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunketts/ER), Thomas McGrath (Fingal Ravens), Brendan McManamon (St Judes), David Mooney (OTooles), Colin Moran (Ballyboden St Endas), Derek Murray (Round Tower, Clondalkin), Rory OConnor (St Oliver Plunketts/ER), Stephen OShaughnessy (Lucan Sarsfields), Tomás Quinn (St Vincents), Donal Ryan (Raheny), Shane Ryan (Nh Mearnog), Michael Savage (St Vincents), Jason Sherlock (St Oliver Plunketts/ER), Seamus Walsh (St Marys, Saggart), Ciarán Whelan (Raheny).