News‎ > ‎Football News‎ > ‎

3 Raheny Minors play as DUBS beat Westmeath April 16th

posted Jun 22, 2011, 2:52 PM by Kevin Brassil
18th April 2011

Well done to the 3 Raheny players, Gavin Ivory, Rutherson Real and Paddy O'Higgins selected at No's 4, 9, 11  in Leinster Minor Football Championship 1st Round victory v Westmeath.


St Anne’s Scott Fulham has a Dublin championship debut to remember when he hit a hat-trick as the Dubs outclassed Westmeath in Saturday’s Leinster MFC first round clash at Parnell Park.

The Dubs advance to the quarter-finals while Westmeath must take their chances through the backdoor with two first half goals from Fulham effectively settling the issue before the half-time interval by which time the home side led 2-10 to 0-4.

The opening ten minutes were eventually matched before a smartly-taken quick free from David Campbell put Fulham through on goal and he showed a clincial edge to finish to the net.

Two minutes before the interval Fulham was in the right place at the right time to follow through on a mis-hit point effort from Ciaran Kilkenny which was fumbled by Westmeath keeper, Darren Brady, to finish to the net to help establish a 12-point interval advantage with the stylish Gavin Ivory prompting the Dublin attack to telling effect.

The Dublin defence impressed in the opening half conceding just a sixth minute point from wing-forward David Whelehan from play while cetre-forward David McCormack showed outstanding accuracy from placed balls.

Eight minutes into the second half marauding wing-back Jack McCaffrey helped initiate a move in his own half that he completed to the net in emphatic fashion for the score of the game when he raised Dublin’s third green flag and move 3-11 to 0-5 clear.

At the three-quarter mark Fulham completed his hat-trick following intelligent play from Ciaran Kilkenny, who also kicked some stunning long-range points, played his corner-forward through on goals following strong approach play by Eric Lowndes.

SCORERS - Dublin: S Fulham 3-1, C Kilkenny 0-6 (0-2f), J McCaffrey 1-1, G Ivory 0-2, E O Conghalile, E Lowndes, C Meaney, K Kindlon 0-1 each. Westmeath: D McCormack 0-3 (0-3f), A Coffey 0-2 (0-2f), D Whelehan, L Dolan (0-1f), G Leech 0-1 each.

Dublin minor footballers will be hoping to maintain their winning momentum when they face Westmeath in the Leinster MFC first round at Parnell Park on Saturday (3.0).
The Dubs recently captured the Leinster MFL title, when defeating Longford in the final, and will need to be at their best to defeat a strong Westmeath team.

DUBLIN (MFC v Westmeath) Parnell Park Saturday 16th pril at 3pm.

1.      Ross Ó hAnlúain/Ross O’Hanlon (CLG Cluain Tarbh)
2       Graham Ó hAnnagáin/Graham Hannigan (CLG Chaisleán Cnucha)
3       Roibéard Mac Daibhéid/Robert McDaid (CLG Baile Buadháin Naomh Éanna)
4       Rutherson Real (CLG Ráth Éannna)
5       Séan Mac Caffraidh/Jack McCaffrey (CLG Cluain Tarbh)
6       Séan Ó Caointe/John Small (CLG Ciceam Bhaile Munna)
7       Conchúir Píc/Conor Pike (CLG Oiléan na hÉireann)
8       Emmett Ó Conghaile (CLG Na Sairséalaigh Leamhcáin)
9       Gabhán Mac Íbhear/Gavin Ivory (CLG Ráth Éanna)
10     Eric Ó Lamhna/Eric Lowndes (CLG Naomh Peregrine)
11     Pádraig Ó hUigínn/Patrick O’Higgins (CLG Ráth Éanna)
12     Conchúr Ó Máonaigh/Conor Meaney (CLG Naomh Sailbheastair)
13     Scott Mac Fhoghlaim/Scott Fulham (CLG Naomh Áine)
14     Ciarán Mac Giolla Choinnigh/Ciarán Kilkenny (CLG Chaisleán Cnucha)
15     Daithí Mac Cathmhaoil/David Campbell (CLG Cill Mochuda na Crócaigh)